Which anime opening themes can you sing off by heart?

One of two very cute Vocaloid Karaoke pics I found on Gelbooru.

One of two very cute Vocaloid Karaoke pics I found on Gelbooru.

As I was watching Kanon(episode 2 is justing finishing now) and singing along to the opening, I wondered, how many people make an effort to learn their favourite openings, or not even put any thought into it, but just end up knowing the lyrics without subtitles being up to sing along to. Actually, how many want to sing along? I can’t help it with most openings, if they put singalong subs there…

I just can’t help myself. Sometimes, if the song aint that easy to sing, like Code Geass’s first ending, that was horrid, and didn’t really like the song either, I won’t learn any of it. But the majority of the shows I like/love I end up knowing the music. Same for the dubbed anime I watched when I when I was younger, Pokemon in particular lol. ‘I wanna be, the very best, like no one ever was~’ (I could go on, and recite the whole song, full length version, not just the short tv one. Hehehe) But for most anime opening themes I learn, I’m restricted to the tv version, no singalong subs on screen to help me out on the full version. Some I do memorise though, like Dango Daikazoku.

So, I ask again, who sings along to the anime openings? Who memorising the lyrics and can sing them off by heart, no subtitles? And who doesn’t like singing along at all?

The other super-cute Vocaloid Karaoke pic from Gelbooru. These are the biggest sizes they had me thinks.

The other super-cute Vocaloid Karaoke pic from Gelbooru. These are the biggest sizes they had me thinks.

Gotta have a pic of the Kannagi girls with microphones, incidently, the Kannagi op theme was a bit too fast for me to learn and sing without slipping up. Though I can do the ending.

Gotta have a pic of the Kannagi girls with microphones, incidently, the Kannagi op theme was a bit too fast for me to learn and sing without slipping up. Though I can do the ending.

One final pic, love this one.

I lol'd when I first saw this in Kannagi. Love cameos + crossovers.

I lol'd when I first saw this in Kannagi. Love cameos + crossovers.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

14 Responses to “Which anime opening themes can you sing off by heart?”

  1. xJAYMANx Says:

    @Meimi-chan: Hahaha, “Kannagi”, yeah, the “closet” episode and this “karaoke” episode are two of my memorable faves from the series. FTW! As for singing by heart, nahhh, lol. But if I could, the opening for “Air – TV” and “Lain” would be nice. ^_^

  2. Matteas Says:

    I can’t help myself singing along sometimes as well. For example the opening from Kanon that you have mentioned. I really liked it, and it had easily memorizable lyrics.

  3. jusuchin85 Says:

    Slow songs tend to be easier to sing, I have to concur with that.

    But if you asked me, I would say that “Sora Iro Days”, “happily ever after”, “PRIDE” and “O2″ are some that I can sing.

    And I agree with Jayman; those are some of the scenes which are so funny, it’s memorable. Love Kannagi, just love it!

  4. Asian Ed Says:

    I’ve ended up learning a good many OPs and EDs… I wind up putting the catchier tunes on my music device and listen to them in the car or at the office. Most of the ARIA themes I know, as well as the first Shana OP to name a few. For the longest time, I knew the Sailor Moon theme as well, despite never actually have watched an episode in Japanese…

  5. Mimi Says:

    lol @ last pic
    Yeah there’s many great songs that I store in my head for eternity. Like many Gundam OP/ED’s.. and a lot of older anime that I grew up with like CCS and Doraemon, which I can still sing the middle part where they draw him and sing how you draw him. lol x3 >.<

    • meimi132 Says:

      Ahhh CCS! I remember the dubbed Cardcaptors music, and some of the CCS, though the english lyrics were easier to memorise, but I still have the 2nd(? I am a dreamer, Hisomu power?) op for CCSakura down. Gundam and Doraemon sadly not… only know one song from Gundam and that was a total accident lol.

  6. blur Says:

    Kannagi is Queen! But I assumed you already know that from my banner.
    :p
    Definitely agree with Jay and Jusu.. The “Closet” episode was my favorite. When they started hugging each other in slow mo. Epic!! Lol!

    I’ll be honest, the only song I can sing without missing a single word (or kanji) is Komoriuta by Iwasaki Taku from the anime Now and then, Here and There. I love that song.
    Give the song a listen and you will know why I can sing it, Lol! It only consist of a handful of lines.

    Love the little smiley you got down at the bottom of the page. o_0!

  7. Snark Says:

    Name a super robot anime, chances are I know how to sing it, or at least hum it’s tune ;)

  8. gundamjehutykai Says:

    what can I sing without subs? too damn many…

    You get to burning (Martian successor nadesico)
    Cruel angel thesis (NGE)
    Geki Teikogekayakidan (sakura taisen)
    Shooting star (onegai teacher)
    Tomorrow (Full metal panic!)
    Sore ga Ai Desho (FMP Fumoffu?)
    Minamikaze (FMP TSR)
    God knows (Haruhi)
    Shining days (mai-Hime)
    Innocent starter (Nanoha)

    To name a few… and those are the ones I know completely. The list gets insane when you count the songs which I know almost all the lines for (maybe one or 2 I can’t remember without a little prodding). My mind has an amazing ability to remember crap but not useful stuff!

    • meimi132 Says:

      T’ain’t crap if you love it lol. But yeah, I’m the same, most of my brain hd is taken up by useless trivia. Lyrics, actors names, their filmographies. Far too much space used on stuff I probably won’t be using for much…

  9. T.I.P. Says:

    I like to sing (or at least hum) along to the openings of Clannad, Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood, and Haruhi. I would love to sing along to all of them, but sometimes it’s just too hard to do something like that with fast paced songs in a language you don’t really know. ^^;;

  10. xJAYMANx Says:

    @Meimi-chan: Oh wow, I’m so sorry I didn’t see your comment last month (Blog 209)! I finally found it after doing some blog cleaning! Haha, no worries about “Independence Day”. With Will Smith, right? If I remember right, it was pretty rockin’! Hehe, yeah, despite my 3-stars, I figured I can still appreciate what other fans see in “K-On!”, lol. Thus, the “moe” flood! As for “Smallville 8″, whoa! Spoiler alert! Spoiler alert! Hahaha! Though I never did watch much of the original “Lois & Clark” TV series, lol.

  11. CakeofBaka Says:

    I can sing so many anime songs I was trying to list them all and I couldn’t even think of them… Ha. Well, I know most of the Haruhi songs and all of the K-on Songs. (Not including Character Imange songs) And also things from Shugo Chara and Zettai Karen Children, and others Like Maplestory, ToLOVEru Maria Holic, Etc etc.

  12. Floobersman Says:

    Both Death Note openings, all Code Geass openings, and the first Pokemon Opening, and the Bleach 6th opening.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

