Day out at Banham Zoo – Oh the animals!!

Today, I went to Banham Zoo with my mum, youngest brother and grandparents. I haven’t been to Banham Zoo in ages, so was pretty happy to go back. I thought I may aswell bring the camera to take lots of pretty pictures of the animals!! In the end the camera ran out of battery, but not before I managed to take over 80 pics lol. I ran out of space before we left, so I deleted some of the ones I didnt like. And to my amazement only a few of them were out of focus. Was quite chuffed with the photos really. There are some really nice ones I think. (Camera is only 4 Mega Pixels, I know thats not fantastic lol)

Now for some photos!! Many-many photos! Cause i am quite proud of some of them lol. (Beware of viewing full, they are big, I left them big in case people wanted bigger versions, very-very big, 2700 by 1700 ish)

Taken through the fence! No blurry fence at the edges! Wuu!

Taken through the fence! No blurry fence at the edges! Wuu!

(Am trying to maximise use of space.😄  Tried to maximise space but it didnt wanna cooportate…)

We started out at the Petting Farm-esque part of the Zoo. Which was fine. I love cows, goats, sheep, rabbits, rats(!?) and chickens. Not piggies though…. even the piglets squeal like hell if you try to touch them. Goats just deal with it. And demand food lol.

There were also llama's in the Farm-part....I spose there are llama farms too lol.

There were also llama's in the Farm-part....I spose there are llama farms too lol.

One sad moo-cow.... all alone...

One sad moo-cow.... all alone...

After that was the birdies. Not just parrots. There were pigeons with mohawks!! Punk-rock-pigeons!! lol (Sadly no pics of them tho… must have deleted them to make room for the penguins at the end…)

Ok, this is a parrot lol.

Ok, this is a parrot lol.

 Next came the monkeys, primates-what have you.(Gibbons, chimps, diddy-monkeys etc) I’m not a great fan of monkeys myself.

Is this not one of the most evil-looking monkeys you ever did see?

Is this not one of the most evil-looking monkeys you ever did see?

Seals!!! Lovely, lovely seals!!! Wet dog-fish-creatures!!! Why they’re called Sea Lions I dont know, when they look more like dogs, Sea Dog would make more sense frankly. But I’m sure theres some reason for the name Sea Lion lol.

Meercats were next on our agenda. Took quite a few pics of the Meercats. All turned out pretty well. But this is my favourite/best.

Quick stop at the camels and more llamas.

Llamas sitting contently.

Llamas sitting contently.

Llama after my mother touched it. (lol)

Llama after my mother touched it. (lol)

The Leopard moved too fast to take a decent pic of. But I saw this one on top of its climbing frame.

After the wild cats(tigers were asleep under tree’s and cheeters were no where to be found)we moved onto the horses and other equine beasties. My brothers school had adopted a donkey as it happened. Turned out to be called Douglas. Which I dubbed, ‘Douglas the Depressed Donkey’, cos he just stood there with the saddest eyes being petted by anyone and everyone…

That is one sad looking ass....

That is one sad looking ass....

Giraffes next! Fairly new to Banham Zoo actually. Giraffes are one of my favourite animals. Cos they’re tall like meee!

One of my favourite parts of Zoo’s are the Birds of Prey section. I loved the presentations they put on, cause you got a chance to hold them, wearing the massive leather gloves. Of course now I’d never get picked…I’m too old….not young and cute enough, they only pick small children, its ageist! Ageist I tells ya!

Pretty birdy!!! Peregrine Falcon. One of my fave kinds of bird. (From Animals of Farthing Wood lol)

Pretty birdy!!! Peregrine Falcon. One of my fave kinds of bird. (From Animals of Farthing Wood lol)

This bird is a scary looking creature. Quite big too.

After the birds of prey came the zebra!! More kept apearing after I took a picture lol, so I picked the best looking photo to show in the end.

Another lovely bird, flightless this time, is the emu!! It’s all leggy and has name that begins with E, so I likes it!!!

Our last stop was at the Penguin enclosure. But on our way my little bro spotted that the seals were actually moving about, instead of just lying around cleaning themselves, or barking lol.

I'm suprised this picture turned out so well, considering the camera's battery was on its last legs.

I'm suprised this picture turned out so well, considering the camera's battery was on its last legs.

The Penguins were lovely. And since the glass wall wasn’t too high, I could lean over, and they were all(3) looking up at me, probably expecting fish lol. I’m guessing there weren’t just 3, maybe the rest were sleeping in their little houses or something…

The one at the back was my favourite.

The one at the back was my favourite.

The last animal we saw, while walking back to the entrance/exit and giftshop was the Fennec(or desert) Fox. It was so cute sleeping like this!!!!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Day out at Banham Zoo – Oh the animals!!”

  1. Blowfish Says:

    Penguins Rule!
    Recently an Elementary Grader stole a Peguin and hid it in his backpack.The teacher found it out while they were on their way home^^

  2. Coco the Bean Says:

    The Fennec Fox is adorable!❤

    @Blowfish: Wow. O.O I thought most zoos would have better security.

  3. meimi132 Says:

    @Blowfish & Coco the Bean: I heard about that too. They hid it in their backpack or something….
    I dont get how children, who were probably quite small got a penguin out of the enclosure and into their bag with no one noticing lol.

  4. Panther Says:

    Penguins rule in Madagascar.

    Cheetahs were nowhere to be found because they were too fast lol.

    Parrots with mohawks I LOL’ED.

    And is that blue shit I see in the meerkat pen?

Leave a Reply

