Kemono no Souja Erin – Suprise pick up

titleboard

I just downloaded this in passing, after reading the synopsis on ANN. Didn’t know what I’d think, first impression was that it would be aimed at a younger audience, that doesn’t bother me particularly. I think it might have been the green hair that persuaded me to watch lol. Anyways, onwards!…

After watching the first two episodes, (I’ve got the 3rd ready to be watched, along with ep 3 of Kurokami amongst others lol.) I’ve decided I quite like it, its quiet, understated, definately more childish, but as I said, don’t mind that, I like being childish as much as possible, seeing as being mature doesn’t seem to have many advantages yet lol. It’s a nice fantasy slice of life, following a mother and daughter and their life in a village, where the mother acts as a vet to these giant lizard creatures, Touda’s, used in battles. So far the story has been fairly simple, a trouble arises, the daughter helps solve it, thus prooving to her mother that she can also be a Touda doctor when she grows up. But if I go by the titles, I’m sure more of a through-plot will develop. There are 50 episodes according to ANN lol.

This is the first thing you will see each episode, I must say, it intrigued me to say the least. And then the music kicked in.

This is the first thing you will see each episode, I must say, it intrigued me to say the least. And then the music kicked in.

Very cute, very sweet ed animation. Lovely song too.

Very cute, very sweet ed animation. Lovely song too.

I really like the music, the op and ed are lovely. I recognise something about the op, but I can’t put my finger on it… its really annoying… anyways, below are the op and ed.

The ed reminds me of the Spice and Wolf ed, Ringo-something, very cute, lovely and clear sounding, if you get what I mean lol. Ringo Biyori!! By Rocky Chack! Thats the Spice and Wolf ed track. And blimey, theres a second series? Not totally suprised, but never got into the first series myself, is it worth another look? I never got through the first episode first time round….

The very cute baby touda. Cute but gormless looking ne?

The very cute baby touda. Cute but gormless looking ne?

Big touda. Not cute. At all. Big. And violent. Only stopped by (Mother)Soyon's whistle.

Big touda. Not cute. At all. Big. And violent. Only stopped by (Mother)Soyon's whistle.

I will continue watching this purely on the basis that its 1. Nice, 2. Calm, 3. Green and 4. Not mentally taxing. It’s just something nice I can, if I wish to, wind down to. It’s nothing I have to really think about, even reading the subs isn’t completely necessary, because so far its been easy enough to follow by visuals and key words lol. I hope it’ll continue being nice and calm, since other series I’m watching, like Maria+Holic and Kurokami are anything but calm lol.

Coincidently, this has been my busiest season so far, with 6 definate pick ups. Maria+Holic, Kurokami, Sora Kake Girl, White Album, Ride Back, Kemono no Souja Erin, plus Munto possibly and maybe Akikan(depends how silly I’m feeling lol, it is after all, about a drinks-can-girl…. So thats 8….. will probably stick to 6 though, with Clannad AS that makes 7 anyways, one for each day of the week lol. With my backed up archieves to watch, I shall be a busy girl…. lol Anyways, its late, I must sleep… even if I don’t have to get up in the morning!! LOL, Classes all CANCELLED! I have nothing for the rest of the week, its a godsend. I will be going home early, was going anyways to see Chris Addison stand up in Cambridge this coming Saturday :woop: The only stand up comedian I’ve seen previous is Dylan Moran, big shoes to fill lol, but Addison is cute enough to just stare at for an hour and a half lol.

Thats Chris Addison, in case you were wondering, most probably werent, I know lol.

Thats Chris Addison, in case you were wondering, most probably weren't, I know lol.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Kemono no Souja Erin – Suprise pick up”

  1. Panther Says:

    Yes, another Kemono on Souja Erin fan! I have been trying hard to promote this to others lol, even doing episodics based on its raws with an obvious lack of skill in the Japanese language.:\

    The adult Touda is actually a Kiba, which is a slightly different breed, if I read it right, from the normal Touda. The Kiba are trained specifically for combat in the Queen’s service. And Ruru is cute.

  2. daemonseed Says:

    It looks like the kind of thing I’d like. Will give this series a go, just haven’t had time recently to pick up any extra anime >.<

  3. taketombo Says:

    The baby touda made me lol
    It look like an interesting series from what you have said so i will have to give it a try sometime ^^

Leave a Reply

