Max Factory Ayu Tsukimiya 1/8th Figure

I chose colder lighting because I thought it fit well with Kanon, set in Winter n all.

I chose colder lighting because I thought it fit well with Kanon, set in Winter n all.

Today I got round to taking some half-decent pics of my new Ayu Tsukimiya. She is gorgeous. Stunningly well made, great accesories, the wings, I love the wings. Pearlescent clear pink….look so fantastic.

I have been wanting a figure of Ayu ever since watching Kanon early last year. Sadly the only figures I knew about were this one, which wasn’t easily available, and 2 others, which paled in comparison. The Max Factory Kanon girls look so much like they do in the series, which is what you want in a figure, ne?

ayu-full

ayu-lower-angle

I fiddled with the settings on the camera, to get a brighter picture. I think it turned out alright, and I fiddled the type of lighting setting aswell.

ayu-left-side

left-wing-shine

ayu-back

The hair is gorgeous. Not a seam in sight. Only if you took the hood off and looked under the hair would you seen the join-mould lines.(Whatever you call them lol)

The hair is gorgeous. Not a seam in sight. Only if you took the hood off and looked under the hair would you seen the join-mould lines.(Whatever you call them lol)

ayu-close

ayu-right-side

frontfront

ayu-close-left

The joints for the arms, which have to be removed when switching wings for backpack, look great, unless you’re looking closely you won’t be able to tell they’re removable.

Again, like with Makoto, lovely booties.

Again, like with Makoto, lovely booties.

I LOVE the wings. Simply magical.

I LOVE the wings. Simply magical.

poss-wallpaper

ayu-left-side2

out-box-1

kawaii

When I first took her out the box I tried the backpack, to see how to get it on. I’m always really worried about taking the heads off figures…. it took a bit of wiggling to get it off first time round. The only quibble I have with this figure, is that the black of the strap, just a little bit, rubbed off into Ayu’s coat. The tiniest amount, but it’s still a bit annoying. Especially as, the majority of the time I plan to display her with the wings on.

ayus-box

I found her on ebay for £45 from Toys Japan. They ship worldwide and they are awesome. You can even get 5-30% off the listed price if you email and barter with them. And thats just what I did. I got her for a very reasonable £35 instead, with the £13 shipping for SAL. It arrived after about 2 weeks. Which is pretty good for SAL, Makoto was sent from France, by EMS and it took only 2 days less. On top of the great service and possibly discount you can get with Toys Japan, they’re actually a pretty new ebay store, only since August 08. BUT they have 100% positive feedback, and from my experience, they’re efficient and reasonable. I would definately recommend them and use them again. And since they’re actually in Japan, and have a shop in Japan, their stock is pretty much guarenteed to be real, no bootlegs or fakes. I did actually ask, to be safe, don’t know if its a good idea to, but when spending overall about £48 on her, second most expensive figure I’ve bought, I wanted to be sure she was real. (I doubt whether the sellers who do sell fake figures would tell the truth, but the email correspondance I had with Toys Japan was great. Very friendly. I even enquired if they could find figures on request, and they can! Oh, btw, I didn’t actually buy Ayu through ebay, I paid straight through paypal because I got the discount. I know it can be dangerous, you could get ripped off, but the vibe I got through emails never made me think for a second I would get ripped off. And I didn’t.

Wrapped in cling film, not sure what that does for safety, I spose it keeps the corners and the rest of the box pristine in transit.

Wrapped in cling film, not sure what that does for safety, I spose it keeps the corners and the rest of the box pristine in transit.

A thank you note! So sweet! And cute paper too.

A thank you note! So sweet! And cute paper too.

I’m not sure why it says seeing you… maybe they get used in the shop too? Or is it just a case of a bit of engrish? lol Either way, service was great, figure was great, price was great. Ayu is everything I hoped for. I love her to bits, like Makoto, and I can’t tell which I like more lol. They’re both stunning and beautifully well made. Great shading in the hair, paintwork on the coat is a bit plain, but in real life it wouldn’t be any different would it? And anyways, it looks how it does in the anime, which is the main thing right? Accuracy to the anime the figure comes from.

When I get back to uni, I’ll get some pics done of Fauna too. The pink blanket will fit well for her lol. For this shoot, I used some leftover white fur fabric I had lying around. Purely chance I found it. I have some red too, but that wouldn’t have fit. The white was nice, like snow. I pegged it up, to the net curtain in my window. I was a tad worried it might fall while I was taking pics lol. I still have alot to learn about lighting, and need a better set up, most of the time its just makeshift lol.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “Max Factory Ayu Tsukimiya 1/8th Figure”

  1. Lightosan Says:

    Nice figure!! Im an ayu fan this one is in my get list but there are another figures like seena that tell me to buy it. But she seems very cute provably ayu wins.Great review

  2. Otaku Dan Says:

    she is sooo cute, I want to get that figure but she is very expensive and hard to find. Awesome pictures by the way

  3. Persocom Says:

    no, you didn’t just show me this :X Now I’m feeling the sudden urge to click the ebay link (oops already did)… If they still have this in stock in a week or two I might just be a copy cat and do what you did, I really want this figure, even more so after reading your review. ~uguu!

  4. Q Says:

    Argh still have to watch Air or Kanon in the future to know KyoAni’s previous works…

    Nice figure of Ayu there. Is it pretty hard to get this by now btw? The wings are definitely a highlight for it~

  5. acesan Says:

    Very nice, I like how u can put wings on her. What background is that in the first few pics?

  6. taketombo Says:

    Nice idea with the lighting, it really worked out well!
    And i have to agree with you, those wings are beautiful ^ ^

  7. xjaymanx Says:

    @M132: Heyyy, nice photoshoot! One of your best!

    But having said that, I gotta disagree about something, lol. Except for Max Factory’s Makoto, I gotta side with Kotobukiya’s Ayu (more energetic), Nayu and Mai (gotta love the sword). Funny though, I was actually preparing a four-girl “Kanon” photoshoot for my Blog 187. But decided I didn’t have enough time. Maybe next time! ^_^

  8. wara zashi (@warazashi) Says:

    A little late to the thread and a bit off topic, but I used your figure photoshoot as the primer for this week’s #figurefridaychallenge: http://goo.gl/3WCLW

    Hope you don’t mind.

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

