Yesterday’s News – 2006

Thought I might post abit about my past on the net, since I have been here since 2001, when I first joined Neopets in my first year of High School. This includes various creative ventures and timewasting fun.

Something I did quickly, scanned in and coloured lol. Shows the leap in quality from 06 to 09 lol

Something I did quickly, scanned in and coloured lol. Shows the leap in quality from 06 to 09 lol

So I start with early 2006, the year when, among other things, I was endevering to keep a webcomic going on DrunkDuck.

Now I say webcomic, it started out as more of manga, but then I realised that it was probably better to just to it so it reads left to right, not right to left, so I did some page flipping in the early pages lol. It was called Takai Otome. I was much less knowledgable about the language  back when I picked the name, so I just went to freedict and translated tall and girl and picked the words I liked the sound of together best lol. The babelfish translation from Tall Girl is 高い女の子, which translates back into english as, ‘the girl it is high’ lol. Which sort of works… But I didn’t know of babelfish back in 2006. As I mentioned, much less knowledgable. I was living off anime imports from america and whatever was shown on tv… I was so clueless. I hadn’t even see Lovely Complex then.. didn’t untill late 2007… Anyways, I only got to like 20 pages… and the last 2 were added early 07. I was crap at keeping up with updates…

Page 20 of Takai Otome. Before page 18 I didn't have real screentone files to use, so its all greyscale colouring lol This is the latest update from it.

Page 20 of Takai Otome. Before page 18 I didn't have real screentone files to use, so its all greyscale colouring lol This is the latest update from it.

Aswell as Takai Otome, I tried another, Kurobasa(Black wings) at the same time(didn’t get too far with that lol), and theres another entry on there, that was an entry into the Neo Magazine Manga competition, from 06.

Theres a mega jump in quality on the 18th page, thats when I added a couple of pages in early 2007, then got distracted, probably by online games…. Someday, maybe I’ll contine with it, I’ve being considering over the past few days actually… was reminded about it during class somehow…. started drawing up layouts lol.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “Yesterday’s News – 2006”

  1. anon Says:

    Saw your PuchiB on DC.com
    Monday broadcast of HIMYM was a repeat

  2. Blowfish Says:

    I wish i had half the skills of you back in 06!
    Are you having any 09 stuff flying around to compare?

  3. xjaymanx Says:

    @M132: Awww, not bad at all! In fact, I might be tempted to vectorize that top pic. What’s her name? It isn’t “Kylie”, is it? LOL >_<;

  4. xjaymanx Says:

    @M132: Haha, “standard” blonde girl. Standard? I suppose I have no choice but to take your word, lol. Hmm, we’ll see. If I do vectorize her, “Kylee” or “Kylie” (either feminine form of “Kyle”, lol) will be at the top of my list! ^_^

  5. Ayu Says:

    Uwa, you’ve really improved a lot from 2006 ^^ You should draw in color more!

    By the way, mind a blogroll exchange? ^^

  6. Blowfish Says:

    @Meimi
    My brain is killing me…I alreay totally forgot about your mascot doodles!
    I even commented in that post…^^;
    So how is your mascot doing?

  7. Marshmallow Says:

    You art is pretty cute, so was the comic. ^^

  8. Snark Says:

    I’d love to see you continue it; that’s some badass art right there!

    …or maybe I should just eat your brain and steal your drawing skills for myself…

Leave a Reply

