Light Diffuser Testing

I know I need two lights… with the right bulbs… the light I was using with the homemade diffuser had a energy saving bulb… god I hate them…. dull and horrid… Got one in my room at home…. nothing like a good 60 watt bulb….

This was taken using 3 lights, one with the diffuser, the wall light and ceiling light.

This was taken using 3 lights, one with the diffuser, the wall light and ceiling light.

I know, from Happysoda’s tutorial, you should use 2 lamps, one overhead, and 1 for the side and you use a diffuser to allow softer shadows… or something like that. Ah!! The relfecter! I forgot about the reflecter! Dang… well… if I get another lamp sometime soon, I’ll try again…

Another using the homemade diffuser.

Another using the homemade diffuser.

This was taking without the diffuser, just with the lamp pointing at her.

This was taking without the diffuser, just with the lamp pointing at her.

Another with the diffuser.

Another with the diffuser.

 Ahhh Chie…. has one of, if not the nicest face of all my figures.

Using the diffuser, makes her hair look weird.... and eyes too shiney...

Using the diffuser, makes her hair look weird.... and eyes too shiney...

Another of Silfa.

Another of Silfa.

You can see, some of the button detail, not so cool. But she’s lovely. Wanted her for ages.

front-silfa-diff

I love the eyes on To Heart 2 characters. The eyes of To Heart artwork are different, but still nice.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Light Diffuser Testing”

  1. Blowfish Says:

    Its a pretty depressing thing to find the “right” setup for yourself.
    I bought Two lamps from Ikea and turn off all other lights in my room.I get pretty decent results that way. Be sure to use DayLight bulbs aswell!

    Cheapest way would be to use Daylight though.Take your figures around campus and take pics of them ^_^

    This is what my Setup looks like:
    http://www.flyingpussyfoot.com/2008/07/19/my-nifty-new-setup/

    I had to play around alot with the positioning of the lamps to get good results but its still the same today. Pretty Simple but effective

Leave a Reply

