New light, New set up

chie-close

Today I caved and got the light from Argos, £9.97, max height 52cm, an angle poisey affair. I went and got some bulbs from the pound shop near the market, no daylight bulbs sadly, I’ll need to find one/some from somewhere… I don’t think ordering light bulbs online would be the best idea though, ne?

I got some pretty papers for backgrounds too. And a plain yellow bit, since it would look great with Chie. And it does. Right??

So, heres the lamp…

lamp

It’ll do for now. I really need a better lamp than that black one in the background too.

Things move around a bit after I took this pic lol.

Things move around a bit after I took this pic lol.

I wish I had a proper flat surface to work on, but other than where I am typing right now, there isn’t. So the bed is the best I’ve got at the moment.I changed the white paper on the right that I was using as a reflecter a bit later, to a larger piece.

I’m gonna go through the process of adding each light/diffuser/relfector thingy now. Like on the Happysoda tutorial.

Using the overhead light only... Only light on in the room, curtains shut lol.

Using the overhead light only... Only light on in the room, curtains shut lol.

Top light and side light with diffuser.

Top light and side light with diffuser.

Taken using the top light, side light with the diffuser, and a reflector.

Taken using the top light, side light with the diffuser, and a reflector.

Theres a couple of others with slightly different shadowing. I think I was moving the top light round to see what happens.

top-side-reflecter

I’m pretty pleased with the results of the first set.

Thought I'd get all the Chie pics out the way lol. This background was used for Haruka mostly.

Thought I'd get all the Chie pics out the way lol. This background was used for Haruka mostly.

Different light position, less angled...

Different light position, less angled...

chie-kawaiii

Now for some Haruka! Haruka-chan!!

Haruka-chan, no reflector used. See the shadows fromthe bow on her left leg?

Haruka-chan, no reflector used. See the shadows fromthe bow on her left leg?

Lookie, no defined shadow from the bow now. And the leg is lighter too. Yay for a big white piece of paper! lol

Lookie, no defined shadow from the bow now. And the leg is lighter too. Yay for a big white piece of paper! lol

 haruka-side-ref

Slightly higher angle. Nicer me thinks.

Slightly higher angle. Nicer me thinks.

Just put the patterned paper over the yellow, couldn't be bothered to move it lol. Notice the lovely Ally McBeal boxset lol.

Just put the patterned paper over the yellow, couldn't be bothered to move it lol. Notice the lovely Ally McBeal boxset lol.

Akari-chan!

Akari-chan!

Only took a few of Lucy. She always looks great though.

Only took a few of Lucy. She always looks great though.

Light from a more front angle, as you can tell by the shadows lol. Using the top light right about it looked bad...(shown below) but this doesn't look much better/

Light from a more front angle, as you can tell by the shadows lol. Using the top light right about it looked bad...(shown below) but this doesn't look much better/

Too much face shadow...

Too much face shadow...

I still have a LOOOOONG way to go with figure photography, but I’m getting there lol. Need better lightbulbs. I will look into if they do Daylight bulbs with SES fittings. Me thinks thats enough for now. Might start a Supernatural marathon earlier. I play Harvest Moon at the same time lol. I’ve gotten to winter and Lanna is on purple heart! :woop: I dunno how close I am with the Witch Princess… shame really… Must stop typing…. Ciao for now! lol

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “New light, New set up”

  1. Snark Says:

    I really liked the yellow background for Chie😀

    And is that Arnval and Straff I see in the background in one of those pics? >=D

  2. super rats Says:

    Glad you’re going step by step so that you really get it. My favorite of the bunch is the higher angle haruka.

  3. xjaymanx Says:

    @M-chan: Heyyy, definite progress! I like the Chie on Polka Dots, and Haruka on Polka Dots best. But I’d also suggest using backgrounds which don’t necessarily *match* the clothing. Instead, use a complementary or contrasting set of colors. That way, u avoid *losing* the yellow clothing against a yellow background.

    P.S. Hmm, I don’t think I ever used a box set to support a light reflector, hahaha. Let alone, an “Ally McBeal” box set, lol… Roar, Ling, roar! ^_^;

  4. Blowfish Says:

    Theres definately some progress!
    Id try to switch the lamps next time.The Black one doesnt seem to be as powerful as the other one.

    Ive gotta say it once more: I love your bedsheets😄

  5. meronpan Says:

    are you using a tripod? it seems like the images are a bit blurry? (though maybe that’s the jpeg compression or just my bad eyes ^^;;)

    i’ve been having a helluva time with lighting, think i might cave and start buying some umbrella lamps and such hahaha aiyaaaa what has this hobby turned me into…

    did like that yellow background, gave the chie shots even more energy ^^

    i need to make a diffuser! *sigh* so much to do so little time…

  6. xJAYMANx Says:

    @M-chan: On an unrelated note, lol, gonna stay away from your spoiler post till I see it. Thankfully, I should be caught up to 18. But too busy with my own blog and films to watch 19 yet, hehe. So rest assured. If it’s as touching as 17-18, I’ll ready my eyes and tissues…. ^_^

  7. taketombo Says:

    Showing your set up was really helpful as im a complete noob when it comes to set ups😄
    The new lamp is certainly looking good with the picture in this post ^ ^

  8. Good Smile Company - [To Heart 2] Yuzahara Konomi « 竹とんぼおじさん ~ ! ! Says:

    […] seeing meimi132-chan’s set-up in one of her recent posts im tempted to try something similar out myself, my 13 […]

Leave a Reply

