Anime that really speaks to you…

One series that I can relate too more than any other I’ve seen so far, is Lovely Complex, or Love Com.(I prefer calling it Lovely Complex lol) I saw this series back in December 07, it was one of the first series I saw after getting broadband. (I started rewatching it last night and it reminded me how much I enjoyed it the first time I saw it.)

Koizumi(little spring on the right)and Ootani(big valley on the left).

Koizumi(little spring on the right)and Ootani(big valley on the left).

 I’m gonna be a tad lazy now, instead of explaining the plot in my usual confusing way, I’ll give you the ANN‘s synopsis.

Plot Summary: Risa Koizumi, taller than the average girl, and Atsushi Ootani, shorter than the average guy – their constant bickering and comical love-hate relationship is well-known throughout the school. They act similarly and love the same music, and their friendship is full of laughing, shouting at each other, and of course, lots of jokes about one another’s height. But when Risa notices her feelings for Ootani growing, she’s worried. She doesn’t know if he can ever see her as more than a friend. With her friends rooting for her, she struggles to make him see how she feels about him, and that a romantic relationship between a tall girl and a short guy can work. Oblivious Ootani doesn’t make things easy for her, but she stubbornly perseveres in her own unconventional way, determined for her feelings to get through to him, and finally be returned. If only she could do it without driving herself and everyone else crazy in the process…

I can relate to this soooooo much, being a freakishly tall girl also. And have male friends who I bond with over the same interests, games and scifi stuff. In the first ep of Lovely Complex, both Risa and Atsushi got rejected(indirectly) by the people they liked because they were similar heights and they both said they didn’t think of them as a girl(for Risa) or boy(for Atsushi. And something clicked in my brain, maybe thats why no tall guys around my height or a little taller like tall girls. The only guys who have ever been interested in me have been shorter. And like Risa, they have to be at least the same height(in most cases).

 

Click for high res.

Click for high res.

Lovely Complex really did make me consider shorter guys though… Lovely Complex is such an awesome series. Not just because I can relate to it, but cos the story is really nice, and the soundtrack is great(I had it dl’d from ages ago, but I must have accidently deleted it or something… so I re-dl’d it.).

 

Click for full size.

Click for full size.

It’s art style isn’t like the kind I usually go for, uber-cutesy-cutesy-moe-moe kinda stuff. But every now and then, I pick something a bit different, e.g Denno Coil. Lovely Complex is really funny, and sweet and I wish there was a sequal… the manga has 17 volumes which I have yet to read, and I have the movie, but still haven’t watched it, the srt file I’d downloaded wasn’t working with the raw file I accidently dl’d after seeing the anime. (I just changed the file name earlier on though…. and now it works… don’t know why I didn’t do that before lol)

Click for high res.

Click for high res.

It’s just a really charming series that I highly recommend to those who like romantic comedies with a twist. Below is the op(not english subs, but you got the japanese sing along subs, and its in high res, as opposed to the other very low quality one.), and an AMV with a very hyperactive song lol.

Now all I have to do is wait for the dvd release…. the movies been released in the US, but the anime hasn’t…. disappointing…. And I only have the series in low quality RMVB files. So I’m re-dling it.

Once again, go watch!! And what series have really spoken to you?

Tags: , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Anime that really speaks to you…”

  1. Blowfish Says:

    Ive watched Lovely Complex about 1-2 years ago and enjoyed the series.
    Their Obsession with Umebozou was funny as hell ^^
    The Abrupt ending with the introduction of a new “opponent” was kinda lame but i guess the Manga goes on from there and it wont feel this lame.

    So how tall are you?

  2. Blowfish Says:

    BTW:
    Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)

    * Lovely Complex
    * Real Girls Reveal How Guys Asked Them to Go to Fifth Base

    LOL im always amazed at the Related Links ^^b
    I bet they are talking about baseball

  3. Snark Says:

    I remember watching a bit of Lovely Complex in an attempt to shoujo up my anime library =P

    I found it pretty decent, but it got kinda annoying with how Risa felt the need to refer to the fact she was tall like, every fifteen minutes -_-

    By the way, according to the infinite wisdom that is wikipedia, a sequel has just begun serialization.

  4. Blowfish Says:

    184?Yeah thats quite big for a girl!
    You are actually 7 cm bigger than me ^^;

    All the younger brothers of me and my friends are giants though

  5. lovelyduckie Says:

    I read the first volume of manga and hated it to the point that I gave it a negative review. The anime on the other hand…I’ve started it and I really like it! Weird? Very I agree. I might be partially swayed by how much I like the seiyu playing the main gal (yay for Nami’s voice!). But I think the pace of things feels better in the anime. I plan on finishing soon, taht was the last series I started before I moved.

  6. Joel Says:

    184cm?
    =P
    I’m only 16 (nearing 17) and I’m talller than you.
    Anyway, I enjoyed watching Lovely Complex, one of the few romantic anime I actually enjoyed (unlike Fruits Basket, eurgh).
    Cheers,
    Joel.

Leave a Reply

