Aoi Hana – Sweet Blue Flower + Merry Independance Day!

yuri1

The above pic is from the opening sequence, and I seriously doubt we’ll be getting much in the way of this. Seems far too sweet for that.

For all who like a bit of school girl/childhood friend yuri action, this will suit you well, hits all those targets anyways. Tis sweet, yet subtle, and well animated with so far, nice voice acting and a show that seems to have legs.(As in could last a while, like Marimite has, though I ain’t watched that myself lol.)

Just finished watching episode an hour or so ago, and I will definately be trying episode 2 thats for sure. I feel so sorry for Banjoume, although she should really know better… Won’t say more, dont want any spoilers now doya?
I don’t get why its english translated name is ‘Sweet Blue Flowers’ though, since ‘Aoi’ is blue, and ‘Hana’ is flowers, net? Where does the sweet come from? We have yet to learn what the title actually means aswell lol.

yuriop5

One thing that always seems to appear in vaguely yuri anime is a tall girl, at least one, 2 in Maria+Holic if memory serves. Banjoume is the tall girl in this, I’ve noticed they seem to part their hair in a similar way too… Theres Arisa from Furuba who parts it to the right, not yuri, but still tall, Kanako in Maria+Holic, who parts it to the left, as does Banjoume.
Lightningsabre also mentioned a few other tall gals in yuri anime that I was unaware of, Shizuma from Strawberry Panic(which I have got in my completed anime folder for some reason… I don’t remember dling it lol), Sachiko from Marimite, who seems to part it to the right, Shizuma is the only exception of those I’ve mentioned.

yuri2

Just bringing up the tall girls in yuri thing, cos its slightly annoying them being typecast lol. Being overtly tall myself, sometimes folks make, assumptions… and it can be annoying.

Aoi Hana looks to be a really sweet series so far, hopefully will stay that way, and won’t be sullied by Sankaku raunching it up lol. They are very good at making things that arn’t that dirty, sound dirty lol. They did the same thing with Sea Story/Umi Monogatari too.

yuri3

Random, crazy sidenote, was singing ‘Everyones a Hero’ sung by the great Nathan Fillion while writing this, completely not related to the whole yuri schoolgirl thing, so I got no idea how it popped into my head, well apart from being part of the awesome soundtrack to Dr Horrible, which is always floating round my head atm…. lol

Maybe these are the sweet blue flowers referenced in the title, though I still don't get why sweet was added when its just Aoi Hana. Is hana just one flower or more than one?

Maybe these are the sweet blue flowers referenced in the title, though I still don't get why sweet was added when its just Aoi Hana. Is hana just one flower or more than one?

Any why Merry and not Happy Independance day? I wanted some variety! lol Merry’s not just reserved for Christmas after all.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Aoi Hana – Sweet Blue Flower + Merry Independance Day!”

  1. xJAYMANx Says:

    @Meimi-chan: Haha, except for the main character, it seemed like *all* of the girls in “Strawberry Panic” were tall! Okay-okay, maybe *all* of the sempais then… Wait a sec. Great Britain celebrates the American Independence Day too? Really? That seems kinda odd to me. >_<

  2. mikuru.net Says:

    i really enjoyed this anime also! im not really sure which direction the anime will take but its gonna get real good!

Leave a Reply

