Tamiya Gets

materials

I went to a hobby shop situated right in the middle of Snetterton Market, Snetterton Park Model Shop. Its bloody huge! I wandered around for a bit before I found the stuff I wanted, was just to the left round the corner of the entrance. LOTS of Tamiya stuff, had every Tamiya Weathering set available! They had Tamiya sandpaper stuff too, I think it might be for use when wet… since its all in Japanese I can’t tell lol. The can of varnish I got yesterday, its matt finish and meant for plastic modelling, so it should be fine, but I’ll test it on a something to be sure.

Pricewise the weathering stuff was more expensive than it was on ebay or other places, but since I didn’t have to wait for shipping, its better, and worth the money. The varnish was £4-something, I still need the Tamiya Polishing Compound, BUT I found out thats illegal in Europe lol, apparantly we’re the only country thats stopped selling it though, rest of Europe still does. The UK’s such a goody-two-shoes…. Can still import though, not the end of the world.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

15 Responses to “Tamiya Gets”

  1. Snark Says:

    I apologize if this sounds crass, but the image of a girl buying gunpla stuff at a hobby shop is getting me so aroused right now. -_-;

    • meimi132 Says:

      LOL I have got some weird looks going into various hobby places. They look positively shocked that a girls actually in the Games Workshop Warhammer place lol. Same for the one in Watton, and the guy I was asking about Polishing Compound at the SP Hobby Place today was suprised a girls into model kit building too lol.
      Comes with the territory my friend. She-geeks of my caliber are not common lol.

  2. purplezest Says:

    ahhh wikid, Tamiya stuff is the best, its what i used to do my model motorbikes.
    And yeh i love the looks you get when going in hobby shops, they always looked at me like does she need help lol.
    i had one noob when i went to pay (for my 3rd kit) that told me this kit would be too hard for me, the cheek lol, and i gracefully corrected him this is my 3rd one and has an easier rating then the other two. and he gave me a brill shocked expression back (with his mate laughing at him in the background) it was one of those times you wish you had a camera lol. ahhhh the memories lol.
    Can’t wait to see the final thing, its gonna be epic with the amount of time you have put into it😀

  3. gundamjehutykai Says:

    There’s loads of stuff which shops suddenly don’t sell.

    I suddenly found it almost impossible to find 250ml bottles of Tamiya paint thinner!! What are people going to do? Drink it? Can still find it online and the sites are willing to send it to my address but it’s an unneccesary hassle.

    Oh, and the Tamiya spraypaints went byebye as well. Dark mica blue was a fantastic colour but I doubt you can find it in the UK anymore.

    • meimi132 Says:

      I saw a fair few tamiya spraypaints at this place I went today, but the guy said a couple had been banned, then brought back after the ingrediants were changed. What the hell are the Japanese putting in this stuff? lol

  4. chubbybots Says:

    wow didn’t know it was that hard to get hobby supplies in europe till i read this post… I have never come a across a girl walking into hobby stores here by themselves lol, only while accompanying their bfs in. But interestingly the shop that I frequent often is owned by a lady who really knows her stuff ^^.

  5. Hangmen Says:

    I really miss building gunpla. I still have dozens unassembled back home. I’m currently studying in a different state, which is sad because I’m still in the same country yet so far away from home. I hope to resume building upon my next semester break.

  6. Arein Says:

    Never knew you were ‘this’ into gunpla.. O_O

    Nice loot, wish we have that kind of hobby shop here D: Did you spray the matte topcoat into Zaku already? He looks good in this shot. :3

    • meimi132 Says:

      Heheh, when I get into something properly, I go all out lol.

      And no, I hadn’t sprayed dear Zaku yet, tis the wonder of sanding in that shot, before I’d even applyed the matt topcoat. Will applying a topcoat now mess with the weathering stuff at all?

      • Arein Says:

        What kind of weathering? The Tamiya one? Forgot to say that you should add a thin layer of topcoat after weathering to ‘seal’ it off and prevent it from easily fading..

        I suggest you try it out on a detached piece of that zaku..

        • meimi132 Says:

          Yeah the Tamiya stuff. I thought I probably would have to lol. Same with pastels. I’m not gonna weather my Gelgoog Otousan, have it matt with decals.

  7. Tommy Says:

    Holy crap, I would so love a girlfriend that can build gunplas for me. 😄 But that would make me a wuss…oh well, that can’t be helped. Looking forward to your completed models.

  8. tamiya modelkits Says:

    nice, i m interest with your article..

  9. tamiya modelkits Says:

    nice post, im like your blog

Leave a Reply

