1/144 Blaze Zaku Phantom

Now this kit isn’t nearly as posable as the others I have. Its an Ungraded Low Articulation. Didn’t realise just how low lol, but he’s still gorgeous now he’s (almost) finished. Almost because I’m pondering whether or not to paint the back thruster/missile launcher bits the right greys. He looks awesome as it, with the grey/black backpack and white thruster bits with some black marker for the panel lines. The trickiest bit for him was the piping around his waste. Doing detail that small is o fun with a gundam paint marker, specially as it spreads. I need one of those gundam-marker-remover-pens really lol. Will look into it sometime.

As you can see. It’s another Zaku. Continuing my trend of NO GUNDAM lol.

blaze4

Many more pics  below the cut! I keep forgetting to put this in… whats wrong with me? Bah….

blaze1

blaze2

blaze3

blaze5

blaze6

blazeleft

blazeright

As you can see, the super-amaturely painted backpack. The gundam paintmarker was acting a little strange when I did this, I think I forgot to shake it before I did parts...

As you can see, the super-amaturely painted backpack. The gundam paintmarker was acting a little strange when I did this, I think I forgot to shake it before I did parts...

The extent of his leg movement.

The extent of his leg movement.

He looks most awesome when he’s just standing head on, feet a little spread apart, hands raised from sides. Like the 4th pic down from the top. With the missile flaps open of course, to see the super pretty shiney red bits. Borrowed my friends marker for those bits, had to be uber careful cos it really was a permanent-permanent marker, even more so than the gundam paint markers, cos least you have a little time to wipe before it dries.

Also, go to my friends blog to see what she’s been building, I mean how often do you get an insight into a girl-gunpla-builder? Not often I’m guessing lol. Her most recent kit is the super pretty Keroberos BuCue hound which I sooooo want too!!! And theres a hobby shop in town which sells tamiya paints… I could get some pink and make it a pink doggy! A friend for my Concert Zaku!!! lol

Little bit more bout the Phantom above, cos I don’t have any lilac/purple paint or markers etc, I just weathered the shields a little. And I did a little bit of silver weathering on the main body. Subtle, but pretty, on the feet too. And head. I love the silver…. lol

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “1/144 Blaze Zaku Phantom”

  1. purplezest Says:

    OMG looks amazing, think it would look cool with the back parts painted, add a bit more colour to him but either way i think he rocks😀 this one has nice legs too😀

  2. Snark Says:

    “It’s another Zaku. Continuing my trend of NO GUNDAM lol.”

    Woot! A fellow no gundam builder! High five! ( . .)/\(. . )

  3. Q Says:

    A Zaku fan. Very interesting. I myself have become a grunt fan in general ^^;

    I’m surprised that you got this rather than the HG version instead. It does look like that you’ve done a LOT of painting to get this through. Pretty well done for painting a NG into that – I don’t have that much effort and time I have to admit!

  4. bd77 Says:

    Wow… You actually go for that… =_=
    Those ungraded kits are good if you’re into DIY, i.e. making the joints yourself =D
    One thing I like about this version ZAKU is the FireBee backpack, got has thrust-vectoring capability AND contains volley of happy missiles.

    I really need to write my review of the Jegans… (note the plural “s”). orz

    p.s. the backpack can also be used for the Destiny Zaku SD kit.

Leave a Reply

