Please say I’m not the only one who’s thought it…

Its mainly the hair.... but still....

I can’t be the only one who has thought of the comparison between Depp’s Hatter & Carrot Top. Before his brief appearance in Scrubs I had no idea who he was, then he popped up in an ep of Family Guy lol. But barely any knowledge of this guy. Depp however… they’ve made him look scary… freaky….nightmarish…. and yet theres still swooning?! lol

Yeaah... HAWT😄

I hope all these tweens going to see the movie for him have NIGHTMARES HAHAHAHA! And much as I like/liked Burton flicks…(Sleepy Hollow still my favourite, his movies seem to get weirder-looking as the years go by…odd…) This Alice in Wonderland looks….loopy… its not the original story ofc, its a Alice-revisited story. Like the recent ‘SyFy’ Alice with the yummy Andrew Lee Pott’s as Hatter. Wasn’t a great version frankly… but which will I like better lol?

Anyways, might see this friday, 2D ofc. Why waste the money on 3D when so far, with every movie I’ve seen in 3D & then seen the 2D to compare, theres been no significant difference in enjoyment? If I don’t see AIW, I’ll see Legion for some Angel-awesomeness.😀

And a few more scary pics I just found… they have deffo done something to his eyes.. made them a big bigger it looks like… and the green ofc… just….freaky scary….

Its actually properly nightmarish… I’ll need to look at some happy pics to get this out of my head…*shudder* Once again, I hope all you crazed Depp-loving tweeny-boppers(who, lets face it, probably don’t even know the story, Disney or Lewis Carroll original…) have nightmares!!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

12 Responses to “Please say I’m not the only one who’s thought it…”

  1. Kate Says:

    I’m almost definitely sure it’s the makeup that makes his eyes look bigger. Usually white around the eyelashes is used to make eyes wider and pop more (it’s also what those Japanese girls do to make their eyes look HUGE, along with eye-glue). The contacts are really freaky though… I’m more impressed with the makeup artist to make him look like that!

    I really want to see this, but I’m not sure whether to in 2-D or 3-D…I’m leaning more toward 2-D simply because it’s cheaper. All in all, Depp is an amazing actor and Carrot Top scares the sh*t out of me LOL

    • meimi132 Says:

      I’m almost 100% sure those arn’t contacts lol…or if they are, they’ve been enhanced with CGI a bit to make them sort of glow… pretty sure nothing in that movie is CGI free lol.

  2. Mari Says:

    I just read an article about this, actually.

    The decision for orange hair came from images Johnny came up with after he looked up information about hatters and the origin of the term “mad as a hatter.” Apparently, it all came from mercury poisoning from the substance that was used to assemble hats (the effects more or less caused you to go sideways).

    It took me months to get used to this character design. I finally warmed up to it when I saw the “Only if you believe it is” shot where his face looks genuine rather than freaky.

    And those are contacts, by the way. From what I’ve seen I can safely guess that the Mad Hatter, Alice, and the White Queen haven’t been altered with CG. Give the makeup department some credit; if those contacts were altered with CG then why use the contacts at all? =P

    Definitely seeing this in 3D. Normally 3D gives me migraines but if it’s anywhere as smooth as Avatar was then I’ll pay the extra money. The rabbit hole sequence in the 3D trailer was great. X3

    • meimi132 Says:

      “if those contacts were altered with CG then why use the contacts at all? =P”

      Because slightly changing something with CG is alot easier than doing it completely in CG. Even if they are such a small thing as eyes, but eyes are a very important part of the chara, so as little CG as possible I wud bet…

  3. Kate Says:

    Well, Depp wears glasses anyway (I think…) so I don’t think he’d mind putting some contacts in xD There are plenty of contacts that can look freaky like that, I researched it for cosplay once and there are hundreds of em O_O; If ya don’t believe me check it out at http://www.fxeyes.com/, those can be really scary LOL

  4. Kairu90 Says:

    It is sure way different than Capt. Jack Sparrow, and it scares the shit out of me. Though I will admit it does make me curious to see the movie. Though I am not too familiar with Alice and Wonderland past the Disney movies which I saw as a child.

    and….I dont swoon over Johnny Depp >.< I just really like Jack Sparrow!
    (not that kinda way o.o)

    • meimi132 Says:

      Capt Jack Sparrow is awesome lol. Epic character, its nice that he’s hot too haha. But never felt the need to own a poster of him lol.

      I like the Cheshire Cat design, from what I’ve seen of it, but I’m still unsure bout Stephen Fry doing the voice for him…. but I will see🙂

  5. lovelyduckie Says:

    I’m going to try it out in 3D. I WAS going to do 3D+IMAX but a friend of mine said the glasses they give you IMAX theaters are small and annoying. So I’ll go to a regular theater that has 3D I think.

    PS – I like Sleepy Hollow too

    • meimi132 Says:

      The ones in the Odeon are basically like… sunglasses lol, not very big, and the ons in Showcase DeLux are…bulkier… but the actual bits you look through arn’t much bigger, might be smaller than the Odeons… either way…. irksome….

  6. Persocom Says:

    lol @ the first pic. I’m not really interested in the movie for some reason, and I’m usually a big Tim Burton fan. I’ll wait till it comes out on DVD I think. I miss the days of Edward Scissorhands and the likes.

  7. Dofus Says:

    I don’t like his face.
    Btw he’s ginger, it’s freaky ^^

Leave a Reply

