Autumn Season Anime 2014 – Deadly Sadistic Norma Gundam Fanservice with a side of Twintails, Mystery and Girlfriends (Beta).

autumn-anime-2014-v1

I’ve tried a fair few of the new anime for this season and so far not many have stuck/made an impression. So far I’ve tried;
Nanatsu no Taizai
Cross Ange: Tenshi to Ryuu no Rondo
Grisaia no Kajitsu
Gundam: G no Reconguista
Log Horizon (season 1, yes I know, but I saw s2 was out and was intrigued)
Ookami Shoujo to Kuro Ouji
Ore, Twintail no Narimasu
Sora no Method
World Trigger
Girlfriend Beta

I will go through them one by one :3

Elizabeth, the well endowed cutie.

Elizabeth, the well endowed cutie.

Nanatsu no Taizai
I’m confuddled by this one, cos I lke the character design, but it’s not something I’d usually watch. It’s pretty shounen, buuuut the animation is good. There are seven knights, named after the seven deadly sins, and there’s a little blonde kid who keeps perving on this cute chick with light green hair. And there’s a pig. To be honest, I haven’t paid super close attention to it while watching it. But I don’t dislike it like some of the new stuff I’ve tried. It seems cool.

BUTTTTS

BUTTTTS (Totally practical battle suits…)

The mecha exoskelliton suits the (probably) lesbinums ride.

The mecha exoskeleton suits the (probably) lesbinums ride.

Cross Ange: Tenshi to Ryuu no Rondo
Straight up, didn’t like it. It seems generic. And the contrast between the futuristic fantasy style city and the traditional haughty royalty reminds me of Code Geass, but not as good. And this has mecha’s too, transforming ones, piloted by girls not wearing much, like normal. (Though I reaaaaally liked Sky Girls. Like alot.) This has a weirdly old school feel to the designs too. And the plot… everyone is a magic user but the ‘norma’s who are considered scum. And I can sense the yuri emanating from the cast.

The girls from the prison school. These are the ONLY girls in the school. Far as I know...

The girls from the prison school. These are the ONLY girls in the school. Far as I know…

Grisaia no Kajitsu
I’ve yet to pass judgement on this 100% because the origins of the lead male intrigue me. Sure it’s basic harem stuff based on a VN/Eroge, but if there is some twist, I appreciate that. The fanservice was all pretty tame before the girl whipped her top off in his room near the end of the first ep too… but censored ofc. And the whole prison set up? What’s up with that?

Is it just me or does he resemble Howl ala Howl's Moving Castle?

Is it just me or does he resemble Howl ala Howl’s Moving Castle?

Gundam: G no Reconguista
I really do like the character design. It’s by the same person behind Eureka Seven’s character designs, but in this Gundam it has a nice rough feel to it, and reminds me a bit of Ghibli. And the actual Gundam MS aren’t part of the good guys MS’s. I just wanted some Zeon-esque suits. Nothing yet. This is post UC though… so I don’t know why I got my hopes up. I might watch ep 2 to see where it goes though.

It looks ok... but if you're gonna watch an anime about being trapped in an MMO, you may aswell watch the best one and stick with SAO.

It looks ok… but if you’re gonna watch an anime about being trapped in an MMO, you may aswell watch the best one and stick with SAO.

Log Horizon (season 1)
Because I noticed that season 2 was out for this, and decided to check out season 1, since it’s synopsis read quite like SAO. And it will get compared to SAO ofc, since it’s about people stuck in an MMO. It seems less serious right off the bat, and it’s not explained in as straigt forward a manner as SAO was, that was pretty much laid out for us. Animation wise, not as good, but it seems more shounen-y. Compared to SAO anyway, and that’s simply my opinion. I doubt I’ll be continuing with it that’s for certain.

The sadist bishie the stupid girl took a pic of. The bishiest.

The sadist bishie the stupid girl took a pic of. The bishiest.

Ookami Shoujo to Kuro Ouji
So basically a stupid girl started lying about having a boyfriend and doing all this stuff with him, to fit in at school, and she takes a picture of some guy and tries to pass him off as her BF. Ofc this guy is someone who actually goes to her school, OOPS. And he strikes a sadistic deal with her in return to keeping up the pretence. He wants to treat her like a dog. Because dogs only want to please their masters, do their bidding etc etc. I haven’t watched episode 2 and nor will I be. Seems… kinda meh.

The white haired chick is my favourite. She's cool. And not tsundere.

The white haired chick is my favourite. She’s cool. And not tsundere.

Ore, Twintail no Narimasu
So this is straight up twintail fanservice. And ofc I like the girl who doesn’t have twintails. But it is just magical girls + twintails by the look of it. Didn’t enthral me.

Reminds me of Hanayamata, only cos they did the similar pose in the op :3

Reminds me of Hanayamata, only cos they did the similar pose in the op :3

Sora no Method
This feels like my Hanayamata replacement. Cute girls and gorgeous backdrops. Its slice of life-y but with a mystery/fantasy element of the gigantic floating disc above the town, and Noel has something to do with it. Which is keeping me watching. If it was just slice of life, I probably wouldn’t care. But give me a mystery element and I’m there.

This is what the shows about. This face. 110%.

This is what the shows about. This face. 110%.

World Trigger (Shingeki no Neighbour as we calls it)
Seems shounen-y. Looks alright. Scifi based story of aliens invading, reminded me of Sky Girls and Strike Witches. Buuuuut the idea that the white haired boy is somehow related to the ‘neighbours’ somewhat intrigues me. So I *may* keep watching… I do like the faces Yuma makes. Or the one face he makes frequently lol. (And the op theme is quite… Kpoppy. I find.)

Can you the feel the moe?

Can you the feel the moe?

Girlfriend Beta
Something my little brother has been looking forward to due to the MASSIVE voice actress cast, and pretty much all his recent favourites in it. Based on a mobile simulator game, where you have a girlfriend, and there’s a card collection element? Over 60 girls or so I’ve read. Much cuteness. Such moe. Not one male character was introduced with a name. Just nameless boys in the classrooms. Shoulda just been set in an all girls school. Would saved the need for boy characters. And meant more of the girls could be in the same classes together. I just wanna identify the green haired female who was in the radio station scenes… It was either Oshii Tomo or Ishida Isuki. I need to rewatch to pick favourites though.

(The anime chart was found here.)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

