A look back at 2018’s anime; How many did you watch?

Now, even though I haven’t posted much… in the last… however many years(2 and a halfish), I’ve still very much been keeping up with the anime airing each season each year. Probably because of that I’ve not written anything. But I’d like to try and change that. Juggling work, what I watch, play and sometimes read is always difficult though. BUT!!! Let’s give it a whirl!

screencap anichart

I’ll confess that my taste in anime can sometimes be questionable. But I feel you need some trash in your life to balance out the Oscar/award-worthy titles. That said, I don’t stoop as low as “In Another World with my Smartphone” and “The Master of Ragnarok & Blesser of Einherjar”… but I do enjoy more than the odd isekai, which my best boy has pretty much tapped out on as he feels the market is oversaturated and they all have dumb titles. Which is probably true for about half of anime these days anyway.

So the list of shows I watched last year was pretty long(65 long as it turns out). But I’d like to think it’s no longer than the past few years ^_^;. I know alot of people are hailing 2018 as the best year for anime in a long time, but I’d need to go back and compare.

Below are all the shows that I watched to completion(the ones that I’m almost finished I tagged thusly)

Winter 2018
Darling in the Franxx
Violet Evergarden
Overlord
Sora Yori mo Tooi Basho(A Place Further than the Universe)
Citrus
Death March to Another World
Pop Team Epic
After the Rain/Koi wa Ameagari no You ni
Kokkoku
Fate/Extra Last Encore
Hakata Tonkotsu Ramens
Cardcaptor Sakura Clear Card Arc
Gakuen Babysitters
Miira no Kaikata(How to Keep a Mummy, possibly my favourite of the entire year.)
Sanrio Danshi
Devilman Crybaby
(Through the Year OVA)Emiya-san Chi no Kyou no Gohan(Today’s Menu with the Emiya Family)
(17 new)

Spring 2018
Boku no Hero 3
Steins;Gate 0
SAO Alternative Gun Gale Online
Wotakoi – Wotaku ni Koi wa Muzukashii(Love is hard as an Otaku)
Hinamatsuri
Megalobox
Shokugeki no Soma season 3 part 2
Tada-kun never falls in love/Tada-kun wa Koi wo Shinai
Persona 5 (4 episodes shy of finishing…)
Mahou Shoujo Site(still need to finish…)
Umamusume
Hisone & Maso-tan (Didn’t watch till it was on Netflix though.)
Kakuriyo no Yadomeshi
Dorei-ku the Animation
Amanchu Advance
Last Period
Rokuhoudou Yotsuiro Biyori
Gundam Build Divers
(18 new)

Summer 2018
Shingeki no Kyojin season 3
Cells at Work
Overlord III
How not to Summon a Demon Lord
Grand Blue
Happy Sugar Life
Yuragi-sou no Yuuna-san
Island
Shoujo Kageki Revue Starlight
Angolmois: Genkou Kassenki
(10 new)
(Summer was a less busy season in terms of numbers, but there were alot of
leftovers from Spring so I suppose that made up for it.)

Autumn(aka Fall) 2018
Goblin Slayer
Bunnygirl-senpai(No need for he full title when everyone knows what it is
from that lol)
SAO Alicization
That Time I got Reincarnated as a Slime
Zombie Land Saga (Greatest left turn ever)
SSSS.Gridman
Iroduku, aka Irozuku Sekai Ashita kara
Jojo part 5
Bloom into You
Boarding School Juliet
Run with the Wind
Karakuri Circus
Hinomaru-Zumou
As Miss Beelzebub Likes
The Girl in Twilight(Akanesasu Shoujo)
Double Decker! Doug & Kirill (by proxy, best boy’s choice)
Merc Storia
Thunderbolt Fantasy 2 (by proxy, best boy’s choice)
Jingai-san no Yome
Skull-faced Bookseller Honda-san
(20 new)
65 total

Is this too many? Did you watch too many? More or less than this? I’d like to think this is a 60/40 split of actual good shows to sub-par trash. That said, one man’s trash is another man’s treasure ;D

Mii-kun

Go to Crunchyroll to watch this adorable heart-warming show ❤

Either way. Back to Fate Grand Order for now! (Yes, I’ve gone down the Fate hole. It happened at the beginning of 2018. All because I told the original anime had a plot twist, and I like plot twists. Little did I realise the bigger plot twist would come in UBW…)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment