Web 2.0 : Good or Bad? (What about 3.0?)

Soooooooo Web 2.0. Whats it all about? If you don’t know what it is, here is the wiki page on it. And, the video on it. Arn’t I helpful? lol

Before 2.0 came 1.0. The original internet before the dot com bubble burst and loads of people lost their money. Web 2.0 is the upgrade, where it became more than just a bunch shopping sites. It became more about the user, lots of social networking sites emerged. MySpace being the most obvious. Followed by Bebo, Facebook etc.(SecondLife is an extreme case of social networking sites… One day the internet will be like how it was depicted in Futurama…) Although its argued that the line between Web 1.0 and 2.0 isn’t as clear as we thought. Amazon let users write reviews and comments back when it started in 1995 after all. Nothing online is concrete. Now thats more true than ever with the users being in control of the internet. Sites like Wikipedia can be edited by any anyone and everyone. (Yet we still end up using it as a source for research. lol. It’s a crazy world.) Web 2.0 is all about the creativity of the users. Sites like DeviantART back that up. Even sites like Neopets allow user creativity, on their profile pages. Coincidently, Neopets was the first site I joined when I first discovered the internet back in 2001. Virtual pet websites spread like wildfire after Neopets became popular. (Due mostly to the success of Pokemon might I add.)

I’ve never really been a fan of the social networking sites. MySpace and Facebook in particular…. Bebo I was fine with, not sure why. Seemed more childish, and I liked that. I only joined Myspace because my Media Studies class in year 12 told us too. Same for FaceBook in Uni. Theres one, sort-of networking site which I do like. DannyChoo.com. A place for fans of Japanese culture hang out, read, comment and even post their own news. Although sometimes users abuse this function. Thats one of the main problems of Web 2.0. People can abuse the creativity. Tis sad frankly. This site in particular. Must be made by some sad bastards. Or people who take sarcasm WAY too far. Either way, it’s just mean. I believe its alot to do with the 4chan thing. Something else I’ve never got involved in. And with good reason it seems. And since its a pale copy of the original and best, 2chan.

4chan birthed many a stupid internet meme. It’s sad that the Web 2.0 revolution brought about such sad instances as this site. That said, much funny stuff does come from it…. Pedobear? The Demotivational trend… Oh theres too much to list lol.

I have actually gone on for 130 words too many… more now… So I should stop… this is really just a rant…(A well researched rant, but a rant all the same…. As for Web 3.0, I just hope, when it comes along, they’ll be able to police the user-content better. Or just make it harder to post crap.(Like what makes up the majority of 4chan…)EDIT: What I meant to say was, I wish they’d just cut out some sites… like some of the social networking sites, the ones that don’t work. Everytime something gets popular loads more appear. It’s stupid.

Things I do like about the net – MMORPG’s. SOME virtual pet sites. SOME social sites. Some flashgames. It’s mainly noobs and people from the younger generation(people 5-6 years younger than me) that have flooded the net with badness….Gaia was ruined by rude you people… just like my school… :sigh: Now some memes and internet idols phenomenons for your enjoyment. Oh, and btw…. here. And by the way, YOU LOSE! EDIT: As xJaymanx pointed out, blogging is also a BIG part of Web 2.0. As all the blogs that have popped up in the last few years prove. And sites like WordPress, Blogger and LiveJournal cater for hehe. I’m a wordpress gal if you couldn’t tell :grin:.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Web 2.0 : Good or Bad? (What about 3.0?)”

  1. Joe Says:

    “As for Web 3.0, I just hope, when it comes along, they’ll be able to police the user-content better. Or just make it harder to post crap.(Like what makes up the majority of 4chan…)”

    talkin bout censorship? if so then noooooooo thats what makes the internet great! its totally free!

  2. xJAYMANx Says:

    @M132: I think u just exemplified another big Web 2.0 side-effect~ “rants”, lol. But seriously, Web 1.0 or 2.0, like Generation X or Y, and 50’s, 60’s, 70’s or 80’s music, and any other social phenomenon before the internet was created, are just arbitrary trends. Trends. Nothing more. Nothing less. I mean, after all, people once thought “rock and roll” was the Devil’s music, lol. ^_^;

  3. Harts Says:

    The first video is very educational and well done.

  4. xJAYMANx Says:

    @M132: Oops, just realized~ I should’ve added my last comment onto this post, lol. Oh well. @_@

  5. suki Says:

    Social networking sites can end up being one big pool of ‘show off’ if the right people are assembled.. otherwise.. they’re not that bad XD

Leave a comment