SLR Practice

(Please note, this is not a digital camera I’m using. I’m using a plain old fashioned Nikon AF NIKKOR 28-100mm.(I think thats its name, if not, its Nikon F65 lol) No screen, no iso controll I know of…. that I’ve been taught of… if there is, someone tell me lol.)

Yesterday I’d got round to scanning my best SLR pics from the first shoot, from Castle Gardens. And the next set I did over yesterday and today I got on CD aswell as 6×4″ photos, so no scanning needed lol.

The first pics I’m gonna post are the scanned photos, my favourites at any rate. And this was my first time fiddling with an SLR camera. So I’m suprised more of them weren’t blurry or complete rubbish lol, only a few of the 72(2×36 exp) came out bad lol.

One of my favourites I think.

Probably one of my favourite pics. Because I got the flower in the center in focus but not all the rest, which was my aim lol. I think...

blue-sky

Most of the pics were taken in Castle Gardens near the Uni, I was just getting used to the settings and what-not really lol.

Most of the pics were taken in Castle Gardens near the Uni, I was just getting used to the settings and what-not really lol.

Boring subject I know, its about the technicalities.

Boring subject I know, its about the technicalities.

garden2

Look! Blurry people!! On purpose I swear! Part of the project was to get movement lol.

Look! Blurry people!! On purpose I swear! Part of the project was to get movement lol.

fence

I now know that getting the balance between the dark trees and the light sky is quite tricky lol.

I now know that getting the balance between the dark trees and the light sky is quite tricky lol.

My friends Katie, wobbling about so I get a better movement photograph lol.

My friends Katie, wobbling about so I get a better movement photograph lol.

river

Nice sky that day at least.

Nice sky that day at least.

stepstrees-silhoettewall

I took a number of shots of my figures, by hand, no tripod, because at that moment I didn't know how wobbly the shots would be unlike a digicam. This was the only one that came out, I assume because I used a very quick shutter speed lol.

I took a number of shots of my figures, by hand, no tripod, because at that moment I didn't know how wobbly the shots would be unlike a digicam. This was the only one that came out, I assume because I used a very quick shutter speed lol.

Now onto the second batch. These are mostly night photos, I’ve again picked my favourites. Nighty photography is cool, but it means more noise…. not experienced enough lol.

I came here to take the majority of the photos. With a friend.

I came here to take the majority of the photos. With a friend.

Highcross is the big Shopping Mall which opened like a week before I arrived at Uni. Mostly boring clothes shops, a game store, book store, gadget store and a big DVD/CD/Game place, they’re some of the decent shops. Our tutor said bouncer-type guard-y people might stop us from taking picture, but we didn’t go into the building, so I spose thats why we didn’t. We did get asked several times what we were doing, if we were from tv, or gonna put them on flicker. lol.

Quite a nice area that I hadn't seen before, near a tapas resturant.

Quite a nice area that I hadn't seen before, near a tapas resturant.

flashiney

lights

Near the tapas resturant, there was this wall of shiney balls, which you could roll about, which made a lovely noise, but you couldn't get any out...

Near the tapas resturant, there was this wall of shiney balls, which you could roll about, which made a lovely noise, but you couldn't get any out...

Took two of this area, one purpley, that came out slightly blurry sadly....

Took two of this area, one purpley, that came out slightly blurry sadly....

Yay!! I'm soooo glad this shot worked out! The lights kept changing which bugged me, but I got it!

Yay!! I'm soooo glad this shot worked out! The lights kept changing which bugged me, but I got it!

The one that didnt work out as well because the traffic lights turned red and all the cars stopped...

The one that didnt work out as well because the traffic lights turned red and all the cars stopped...

I wanted to get this one so the net was blurry but the garden was still in focus. But both were in focus.. oh well, half way there lol.

I wanted to get this one so the net was blurry but the garden was still in focus. But both were in focus.. oh well, half way there lol.

White on white, I know see a bad was a bad choice. I didn't make that mistake the next time lol.

White on white, I know see a bad was a bad choice. I didn't make that mistake the next time lol. Very noisey... Can anyone tell me how to avoid that? I had 3 lights on it, plus daylight from window.

Came out much better, same photo conditions, might have been a longer shutterspeed maybe...or shorter... I can't remember lol.

Came out much better, same photo conditions, might have been a longer shutterspeed maybe...or shorter... I can't remember lol.

This shot, I got how I wanted, face in focus, feet not. But its noisey again... what did I do wrong...?

This shot, I got how I wanted, face in focus, feet not. But its noisey again... what did I do wrong...?

I took a few of these, this one came out best.

I took a few of these, this one came out best.

One of my day shots took today.

One of my day shots took today.

Pretty lights, 20 second exposure, hence the lights from the headlights.

Pretty lights, 20 second exposure, hence the lights from the headlights.

After I got back from getting the pictures developed, I did a makeshift photoshoot of figures, which I am getting developed tomorrow hopefully, before my photography lesson. Means I’ll have to get up earlier than I’d like… but I wanna see how many came out ok. I will report back tomorrow probably, after my Japanese lesson.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “SLR Practice”

  1. Gunstray Says:

    Those are great shots, but some are kinda blurry and grainy. Im not much of a photographer so Im not one to give criticisms, cause i can be wrong.
    Liked the light movement shot so much! :3

  2. chun Says:

    I think usually there’s noise if you use a higher ISO film?
    my personal favourite is : https://meimi132.files.wordpress.com/2009/01/flashiney.jpg?w=450&h=303😀

  3. Persocom Says:

    Very cool photos, ah how I wish for a suddenly acquired DSLR😄 Especially like the blurred people and motion shots, but there were a lot of good pictures!

  4. Azeraphael Says:

    Analogue SLRs are tricky, mostly because a lot of the conventions used for DSLRs are kind of the same, it’s a difference of technology. I’m no expert, but here’s a few pointers that I hope will help.

    ISO is determined by the film. When you go to buy film, it will have it labeled on the box what ISO the film is. Similar to ISO on DSLRs, the film ISO determines the exposure speed–the higher the number, the faster it is. Also, the same with the ISO on DSLRs–the faster the exposure speed, the more noisy the image is. That has to do with the the photosensitive crystals in film: the higher the ISO number, the more coarse the crystals are, meaning less light information being needed for processing, but a drop in image quality.
    Usually, I find for versatility, the best ISO is usually 400, which is a fair balance between speed and image quality.

    For figure photography, I think the best ISO would be something around 100, if you use a tripod.

    PS. I really like a lot of your night-time shots. Especially https://meimi132.files.wordpress.com/2009/01/newarke-street.jpg

Leave a Reply

