SLR Figure Photography

I got my photos back from the shop! The actual prints look awesome, but the high res look a bit grainy…. definately using 100 ISO film next time…. which might be later this week. On some of them I did a bit of photoshopping, just adjusting the colour, I don’t know how to get rid of grainyness lol. And it seems like the lower aperture(ones with out of focus background)have less grain than those with a higher aperture.

I again, had to take pics of Fumie, because I love her.

This was taken using low aperture, soft focus background.

This was taken using low aperture, soft focus background.

 

This was taken using high aperture. Which do you think looks better? I thinks low...but I'm not sure...

This was taken using high aperture. Which do you think looks better? I thinks low...but I'm not sure...

Low AP

Low AP

High AP, only gonna post the low AP now, for Fumie at least... lol

High AP, only gonna post the low AP now, for Fumie at least... lol

soft-bg-fumie-frontsoft-focus-fumie

I love Fumie. So much. I’m sooooo glad I have her. She was the first figure I saw online months before release and knew I had to have.

Not sure if this was low or high AP. But she still looks alright.

Not sure if this was low or high AP. But she still looks alright.

Damn shiney eyes....

Damn shiney eyes....

pec-soft-bg

soft-bk-haruka

lucy-soft

soft-focus-shana

Which looks better? The soft focus of low AP or full focus of high AP?

Which looks better? The soft focus of low AP or full focus of high AP?

softer-makoto

My Kagami twins!

My Kagami twins!

yamada-soft

Finally, my Tsuruya-san twins. I really want a 1/8 Tsuruya-san too...

Finally, my Tsuruya-san twins. I really want a 1/8 Tsuruya-san too...

So, thats is for my figure photos. It went better than I’d hoped, considering what a makeshift shoot it was lol, a pillowcase hung on a sketch book to get that background, and the pink blanket the same way, and that blue patterned background, is a top lol. I would have liked the colours on the Fumie pics to have been better,(I sorted the colour better in psp, the actual photos colour are a bit strange…not exactly as they should be…. But I’m still happy.)

Next time, I am using 100 ISO film, like some of you said to. Hopefully that’ll make the pics less grainy. But I think they’re some of the best pics of my figures I’ve got regardless. Look more professional than my previous ones.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

11 Responses to “SLR Figure Photography”

  1. gordon Says:

    looks alright for a beginner. most of us are kinda spoilt with DSLR where the setting are definitely easier to adjust.

    practice makes perfect. ^^;

  2. vixion Says:

    The Colour of your photo is a little Yellow, i quess you should check your WB [white Balance] Setting

  3. Persocom Says:

    I actually like the High AP better I think, but they all look alright.

  4. xJAYMANx Says:

    @M132: Heyyy, not bad, considering the non-digital nature. Since u haven’t mentioned it, I assume there’s no macro setting. But what about use of the flash? For my “Fumie” photoshoot, my in-built flash definitely helped. A LOT. Since it reduced the “yellowing” effect from my halogen lighting. Just wondering. But either way, definite progress! ^_^

  5. Azeraphael Says:

    I really like the Lucy and Makato photographs.

    Aperture is totally a creative decision. I would think that for figure photography, a higher aperture would be better because it showcases the figure in its entirety. Where lower apertures help are when you want to emphasize certain parts of the figure (like say, the face) or if you take a photo of any figure in a unique environment (like say, outside in the grass) and having everything in focus would make the picture too “busy.”

    I also notice that your photos have come out a bit yellowish. To correct that, I would suggest getting maybe an 80A blue lens filter (although I don’t have much knowledge in that department) or getting a flash unit– since most film is for 5500K colour temperature and usually anything below that (tungsten bulbs are 3200K in colour temperature) can through the white balance off towards red-yellow.

    Hope that helps!

  6. xJAYMANx Says:

    @M132: Haha, thanx-thanx! Actually, I use this link to get your blog value. Still works! Yours is $3600+, hehe.

    Ahh, I see. Yeah, gotta worry about those other damn colours too, lol. But washing out depends. Could increase your distance from the figure. Or like u said, use some sort of diffuser. Even a piece of tissue or printer paper over it. With Photoshop, I use the “Adjust > Auto Colors” selection to counteract the yellowing too.

    Hehe, too modest! What’s wrong with 10K, 20K, then 30K? Nothing wrong with that. Although celebrating your $4000+ might be too soon. Maybe wait till $5000+, lol. ^o^

  7. xJAYMANx Says:

    @M132: Hehe, yeah that “www” is a pain, lol. No probees! Ah, let me re-check my Blog 183 “Flesh” post again… umm… it… was… $3577. So good or bad, it’s been pretty consistent. As for hits, 80K sounds good. Even 77,777 hits. Yeah, sevens are good, lol. P.S. Haven’t started “Digimon” yet tho… ^_^;

  8. xJAYMANx Says:

    @M132: Ahhh, you’re an “888” type of girl, lol. (Hehe, I don’t even know what that means.) But hey, an increase is always welcome! In fact, I was thinking about this… among all the total hits and page views, “estimated site worth” is a number that can actually go down! Ehh, unless u consider hits *per* day, *per* week, or *per* month. But nobody does that, lol.

    Hmm, I don’t think I’ve seen any of Beat Takeshi’s films. But if he’s playing a blind samurai, then it must be the latest “Zatoichi” film (2003). Sounds better than “Digimon” already, lol. But guess what? If u think the James Bond character’s got tons of films, then think again~ the blind swordsman Zatoichi’s got 26 films since 1962! And I’ve seen at least one of those… Oops, did I just tumble into a strange detour? >_<

  9. xjaymanx Says:

    @M132: Hahaha, well then explain this to me~ Why 132? Why not Meimi888? LOL. Of course, u know why I like 7, don’t u? Because with just a slight rotation, it’s the closer number to resemble the letter J, lol. Then after that, Star Trek’s “Seven of Nine” and the “Nana” anime just reconfirmed it!

    Ehh, no need to worry about dying completely. If anything, I’ve been feeding links to your blog. You know, “lifelines”, lol. So no worries. But funny u should mention “Battle Royale”. That’s been on my Netflix DVD rental queue for ages, if not years! But not seen yet! Okay-okay, I’ll bump it up above my Jackie Chan and lorry-loads of anime, lol. Hahaha, you’re too funny rambling and ranting on and on like a Dalek with its eye chopped off… but it definitely brings a smile and a chuckle, lol. When u buy a new copy, maybe there’s a Special Collector’s Edition out? Ahh, just checked Amazon~ Yes, there is! Perfect! There’s an Uncut Special Edition! For hardly 10 quid. Now what did I just say? ^o^

  10. xJAYMANx Says:

    @M-chan: Right. That’s right, Seven was once a Borg but was restored to a human with Borg implants… slowly behaving more and more like an everyday human, lol. But that doesn’t make her techno-beauty any less striking, hehe. Plus, isn’t “Seven” a kewl name? Probably better than Galactica’s cyber-stunning blonde “Six”. Curious how both “Seven” and “Six” are unavoidably-blonde cyborgs, lol.

    Right-right, I know, I know, lol. Already bumped “Royale” from #10 to #1 in my rental queue (might’ve been #50 at one time, haha). So depending on how fast I watch and return my current Jackie Chan DVD, they should ship “Royale” to me in about a week. Good enuff? Ahhh, I’ve seen those “Death Note” films, so I should easily recognize that *wimpy* (yup, wimpy) Shuya by face, if not by name, lol. Hehe, nice… Special Edition, FTW!

  11. xJAYMANx Says:

    @M-chan: Hehe, not sure about the connection. Wait! Possibly! Of course, the new “Galactica” creator Ronald D. Moore had been a writer for the “Star Trek: The Next Generation” for years! Until one day, he realized that the far future can’t be so unrealistically happy as this trekkie puke, lol.

    Ahh, “Watchmen”. Could be a load of crap. Or could be as brill as “Ironman”. You gotta check out my Oct 2007 Blog 115. Unfortunately (or fortunately), never seen a full episode of “Greys”, hehe. >o<

Leave a Reply

